• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© The Copyright in the intellectual property contained on this website remains the property of the authors and contributors including, but not limited to, Michelle Clarke. The authors assert their moral right in relation to all intellectual property contained on this website pursuant to the Copyright Act 1994. The authors reserve the right to charge for any unlawful or unauthorised use or down loading of any intellectual property contained on this website.

About Me

Hello! Welcome to my little world of colouring in!

I grew up with a love for art since about kindergarten age, although I'm not sure any artistic potential was standing out at that stage, perhaps just persistence and commitment. I have so many fond memories of painting all day at Otorohanga Kindergarten and remember being really disappointed when it was time to pack up and put down the paint brushes. Skipping forward to Primary school and my love for art increased (and dislike for any subject that wasn't art grew also). I never really ever got the hang of the core subjects, I just scraped by until I was just finally allowed to drop those subjects and focus on the important ones. I stayed at Otorohanga College up to 7 form/Year 13 where I was awarded 1st Place in Visual Arts at the end of year prize giving. 

After high school I moved down to Christchurch, not really knowing what I wanted to do, as I knew a career in art was unrealistic. I dabbled in many things, such as riding racehorses,  bartending and vet nursing. I also ventured into tertiary study. believing it would get me to where I wanted to be - wherever that was. I signed up for a 3 year Bachelor of Fine Arts degree. My ambitions were promptly stomped on as I failed every exam and grew to hate everything about the swanky and prestigious art world. I dropped out toward the end of first year after my learning difficulties were recognised by the lecturers without any follow up guidance or extra help. I put down the paint brush for the next 2 years.

With art out of the picture I was focusing more on photography for a while, photographing many horse events around Canterbury while maintaining a full time job in the vet industry as well as a side of show jumping my own horses.

Eventually I started painting again but it wasn't until I awarded a Top Ten placement in the Equus Film Festival (out of 300 odd other invite-only entries from around the world) that I started taking myself seriously.

Now at the ripe old age of 26, I am very lucky to have been able to fulfil passion of painting full time for the last 2 years.
I live on a dairy farm in Rakaia with my wonderful husband Stephen, I wouldn't have made that big step to commit to art full time if it hadn't been for his ongoing encouragement and support.   

Contact Me

0275679107